top of page

" Selfie "bags Best Short Film Award in West Bengal Short Film Festival

In the first Edition of the West Bengal Short Film Festival organized by Film Parivar, the short film Selfie directed by Ayaan Acharya won the Best Short Film award while Ayaan Acharya was awarded the best director award

for the direction of the same short film.

The festival held on November 20 at the Rotary Sadan in Calcutta, West Bengal was awarded by

Mrs. India Divine Debashree Chakraborty and veteran journalist and critic Shrikant Kulkarni. Festival director Yogesh Barskar

was present on the occasion. Short filmmakers and directors from various countries including India participated in these festivals,

out of which 35 best short films were awarded.

Veeren Vayapuri from Chennai was awarded as the best student director for the short film Avasaya.

The short film Breaking Free from Germany was awarded Best Student Short Film, Best

International Director, and Best International Short Film.

The short film Zero by Calcutta-based AFX Animation was awarded as the best animation film.

Shriman Das won the award as the best director in the animation category for the short film Conclusion. The short film Rakshasasur was awarded the best screenplay award in the animation category.

This short film Ahare directed by Ayan Acharya was awarded the Best of Bengal award.

Director Neha Sharma's Short Story of Shakha was awarded as the best documentary. Mehek Mathur, a director from Assam, was awarded the best female director of the festival while her short film You Want Company was awarded as the best Indian short film.

More than 50 of the best short films from various countries including India screened at this festival


bottom of page